Suite (212)
EXTRA: Red Tory: My Corbyn Chemsex Hell - satire and the death of political centrism
Avsnitt

EXTRA: Red Tory: My Corbyn Chemsex Hell - satire and the death of political centrism

Ever since September 2015, when the allegation emerged that the Prime Minister, David Cameron, had performed a sex act on a dead pig as a student, British politics has entered a strange new reality, in which satire has endlessly been pronounced dead. In this edition of Suite (212) Extra, Juliet talks to Huw Lemmey about how to make fun of the age of austerity and absurdism, polarisation and pigfucking, focusing on Huw's new book, Red Tory: My Corbyn Chemsex Hell.

SELECTED REFERENCES

WORKS BY HUW LEMMEY

Bad Gays (podcast) - https://www.vice.com/en_uk/article/yw89yb/bad-gays-podcast-interview

Chubz: The Demonisation of My Working Arse (2014) - https://rhizome.org/editorial/2014/nov/20/chubz-demonization-my-working-arse-interview-huw-l

Confirmed Pigfucker (2016) - https://viletrollbooks.bigcartel.com/product/confirmed-pigfucker-political-poems-by-spitzenprodukte

Red Tory: My Corbyn Chemsex Hell (2019) -

http://montezpress.com/catalogue/books/red-tory-my-corbyn-chemsex-hell

Theodor W. Adorno

MICHAEL ASHCROFT, Call Me Dave (2015) - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Piggate

Marcus Brigstocke

Charlie Brooker

James Butler - https://www.vice.com/en_uk/article/4w7kxg/james-butler-huw-lemmy-chubz-322

Dawn Foster -

https://www.theguardian.com/society/2016/mar/23/damage-cuts-and-sanctions-oxfam-wales-austerity

Bob Geldof - https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2016/jun/15/nigel-farage-bob-geldof-rival-eu-referendum-thames-flotillas

Have I Got News For You (TV series, 1990-present)

Simon Hedges - https://www.vice.com/en_uk/article/53n9v8/the-new-wave-of-satire-for-our-morbid-political-landscape

OWEN JONES, Chavs: The Demonisation of the Working Class (2011) - https://www.theguardian.com/books/2011/jun/08/chavs-demonization-owen-jones-review

JOE KENNEDY, Authentocrats (2018) -

https://everydayanalysis.org/2019/04/15/to-save-multicultural-liberalism-build-the-wall-on-joe-kennedys-authentocrats/

London (dir. Patrick Keiller, 1994) - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v84byeueCBI

THOMAS MANN, Death in Venice (1912)

Al Murray, the Pub Landlord - https://www.independent.co.uk/news/people/its-not-just-nigel-farage-al-murray-the-pub-landlord-loses-south-thanet-bid-despite-patriotic-10235430.html

Herbert Muschamp - http://justinmcguirk.com/hearts-city-herbert-muschamp

The Now Show (radio series, 1998-present)

Streatham Rovers FC - https://twitter.com/streathamrovers?lang=en

The Thick of It (TV series, 2006-12) - https://www.blubrry.com/wdtatw/42236688/episode-84-politics-stayed-the-same-its-us-that-changed

Tim Peaks: Farron Walk with Me (radio play, 2018) -

https://soundcloud.com/reelpolitikpodcast/tim-peaks-farron-walk-with-me-a-reel-politik-original-radio-play

Trashfuture (podcast) - https://trashfuturepodcast.podbean.com/

The West Wing (TV series, 1999-2006)